Gouvernement du Canada - Commission des champs de batails nationaux Gouvernement du Canada - Canada

The National Battlefields Commission

Plains of Abraham




The Surrender of Montreal

On September 8, 1760, almost a year to the day after the French troops were defeated on the Plains of Abraham, the British army seized Montreal. Over 18,000 men invaded Canada by three waterways: Murray's army and his 3,800 men came up the St. Lawrence River from Québec, 3,400 soldiers led by Haviland arrived by the Richelieu River, and finally Amherst and his 11,000 men came by the St. Lawrence from Lake Ontario145. To avoid another bloodbath, the French regiments – approximately 2,100 men – went up to the Place d'Armes, and Montreal avoided the agony of a long siege. New France fell in the hands of the British146.

The capitulation of Montreal comprises 55 articles; the first 26 concern the army and the administration of the colony. Articles 27 to 35 concern religion; article 36 grants permission to remain in France; the 37th article guarantees ownership of moveable and immoveable property. Articles 38 and 39 concern the Acadians; the 4th is devoted to the Amerindians; the neutrality of citizens is guaranteed by the 41st article, and civil law by the 42nd. Finally, article 47 maintains slavery in Québec147.